Head shot of Algenita Scott Davis
  • Kinder Institute for Urban Research Advisory Board Member Emerita
  • Government and Community Affairs Officer, Central Houston, Inc.
  • Visiting Professor, Jesse H. Jones School of Business at Texas Southern University

Algenita Scott Davis is a visiting professor with the Jesse H. Jones School of Business at Texas Southern University and the Government and Community Affairs Officer of Central Houston, Inc. A native of Houston’s Fifth Ward, she earned her undergraduate degree in accounting from Howard University School of Business Administration, then attended Howard’s Law School earning her doctorate of jurisprudence. Her legal career spans over 40 years during which she served as a tax attorney for Shell Oil Company and the general counsel of the Port of Houston Authority. Her leadership in the legal profession includes serving as past president of the National Bar Association and Houston Lawyers Association and a member of the Board of Directors of the State Bar of Texas.

Moving from law to community engagement, Davis joined Texas Commerce Bank (TCB) in 1989 and served as senior vice president and community affairs officer, continuing in this role at TCB’s successor, J.P. Morgan Chase and Company. In 1996, she helped found The William A. Lawson Institute for Peace and Prosperity, was its first board president, and became a visiting professor at TSU’s School of Public Affairs, School of Business, and Thurgood Marshall School of Law. From 2006 to 2013, she was the executive director of Houston Habitat for Humanity, constructing 350 houses, building three complete subdivisions, and coordinating many renovations for seniors.

Davis is a former chair of the Houston Area Urban League, vice president of Harris County Hospital District Foundation, and a member of the Board of Houston Business Development, Inc. Davis has served as chair of Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone (TIRZ) Number 9, vice chair of TIRZ Number 7, founding chair of the Houston Downtown Management Corporation (District), and a 25-year member of the City of Houston Planning Commission, appointed by six mayors.